Which button should I press?

Here’s an odd dialog box I spotted the other day. I had just run MySQL Workbench 5.x for the first time in a few months (I tend to use Navicat Premium Essentials these days) and it ran a quick check to see if the software was up-to-date. It wasn’t and presented me with this dialog box:

MySQL Workbench dialog box shows 3 options: OK and Get It Now and Cancel
You can download the latest version. Which button would you press?

So, which button should I press to get the update?

The text reads, “The new MySQL Workbench 6.0.6 has been released…” (was there an old MySQL Workbench 6.0.6?) “You can download the latest version from http://www.mysql.com/downloads/workbench.”

And then I’m presented with two options: OK and Get it Now.

My train of thought was: it says I can download it from this URL, so okay I want to download it.

I clicked OK.

The dialog box closed and nothing else happened.

What?! What just happened there. I thought I had just said that I wanted to get the new version. I clicked OK but it did what I would expect a cancel button would do. But that’s cancel! There is already a cancel button. And there is also a red [x] button in the top right-hand of the dialog box which also cancels the dialog box.

That’s THREE different ways to cancel the dialog box. But they are offering me an upgrade, to make the software better, so why not make that the most obvious, easiest to select option?

Surely this would be a better dialog box:

This dialog box now has one clear call to action.
This dialog box now has one clear call to action.

Now it’s simply telling me that MySQL Workbench 6.0.6 has been released, where I can download the latest version if I want to do it independently of this dialog, and now there is only one, clear call to action: Get it Now.

Error’d: Attention required

Microsoft ActiveSync - Notes: attention required.

What a tremendous error message I received the other day while trying to synchronize Outlook with my O2 Xda Orbit (running Windows Mobile 6). In the status column opposite the Notes icon I got the message: Attention required.

Above it, against my profile (Home) written in red the same message: Attention required. But this one was a link.

So I clicked it. And got a pop-up window with the meaningful message: Notes: attention required.

Kind of wish I hadn’t bothered now! Still, at least I gave it some attention.

There’s some folks I know who could really do with that alert window — actually, not so much for them but those around them!

Error’d: TODO <File description>

You know what it’s like when you’re trying to get your new Windows desktop OCR application to meet the launch deadline, a few things invariably get left undone.

I was installing OmniPage 16 last night and was a little surprised to see ZoneAlarm pop up a message asking if I’d allow

TODO: <File description>

permission to access a particular Windows resource.

TODO: File description

Sure enough when I checked the file’s properties:

OPSTI Properties

I wonder if writing that file description is still sitting on someone’s To Do list at Nuance HQ …