Are you sure you want to delete WINDOWS?!

Last night I tried to empty my Recycle Bin in Windows XP, which in itself was a little odd given that the icon said it had items in it, but opening it revealed … nothing.

I decided to try to empty it anyway. Imagine my surprise when I got this confirmation dialog box (below):

Are you sure you want to delete 'WINDOWS'?
Are you sure you want to delete ‘WINDOWS’?

While I’ve been tempted in the past … I clicked No.

3 thoughts on “Are you sure you want to delete WINDOWS?!”

  1. This actually happens quite often with Windows XP.

    XP is the only version that I am aware of that this “bug” occurs with.

    Simply restart your computer and you recycle bin will then completely and you won’t have to worry about. At least until the next time it happens. Then restart again

  2. Hi, I’ve seen this on friends machines before and every time it has been refering to a usb flash drive which has been removed since. All we did was work out which flash drive and reinsert it and run empty recycle bin to clear the error message.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.