Error’d: But they are ALL new features!

A couple of days ago I was clearing out old CD-ROMs, the ones you get free with PC magazines, and gleaning them of software that I either wanted or thought I should check out.

One application that caught my eye was AceHTML 6 Pro, a development environment for HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ASP, and PHP. This morning I got around to installing it and it was all going well, in a follow-the-instructions kind of a way, until I was presented with this dialog box

Dialog box reads: Do you want to restore the menus and buttons to see the new features?

The dialog box reads: “Do you want to restore the menus and buttons to see the new features?”

I have no idea what this means. I have just installed this application for the first time, so

  1. I would expect the menus and buttons to be “restored”, if that means that they are returned to their default positions, and
  2. they are ALL new features to me, I’ve just installed the thing!

Please, software developers, give us dialog box messages that are actually meaningful to users. 🙂

(Error’d entries on this blog are named after the popular Worse Than Failure feature.)

Published by

Gareth Saunders

I’m Gareth J M Saunders, 46 years old, 6′ 4″, father of 3 boys (including twins). Latterly, web architect and agile project manager at the University of St Andrews and warden at Agnes Blackadder Hall. Currently on sabbatical. I am a priest in the Scottish Episcopal Church, and I sing with the NYCGB alumni choir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.